Antique and art dealer in Beaulieu sur Mer – France

Louis Cane

French Artist

A diverse artist, painter, sculptor and furniture designer, Louis Cane is in a constant process of creativity.

Born in 1943 in Beaulieu sur Mer, his formal and conceptual research with the Supports/Surfaces group, first lead him to deconstruct and rebuild, destroying and recreating “Artwork and the subject of art”, by releasing the canvas from its frame and vice versa. This is evident in his stamped and cut canvases known as his “Arches” and “Sol / Mur” series.

His artistic needs soon led him along a more personal journey. Stating, “Painters do not take risks, for fear of missing their painting”, he then marked his spectacular figurative return with his reinterpretations of the Grand Masters and Grand Masterpieces, (notably his Ménines), which are recognized as major milestones in his career.

He revisited themes of the Crucifixion and the Annunciation, he transfigured woman in his Nudes and irreverent Births and he engaged in the most daring experiments, both in sculpture and in painting, with fantasy, freedom and irony that reflect his lucid vision of our times.

The depth and authenticity of his artistic approach has earned him international recognition. Since the ’70s up to present day, his work is regularly exhibited in Europe, America, Japan, China and the Middle East, and at some of the most prestigious venues. These include the Georges Pompidou Centre in Paris, Château de Chambord, the Sao Paulo Museum of Modern Art, the Maeght Foundation in St Paul de Vence, the Museum of Modern Art in Nice, “The Spirit Supports/Surfaces” exhibition at the Shaanxi History Museum in Xi’an, China and the Leo Castelli Gallery in New York.

Three ballerinas on a swing in painted bronze and steel

Sculpture in painted bronze and steel dated 2015
H:247 x W:199 x D:97 cm

Three ballerinas on a swing in painted bronze

Sculpture in painted bronze dated 2012
H:127 x W:116 x D:17.5 cm

Three ballerinas on a swing in painted bronze

Three ballerinas on a swing in painted bronze, by Louis Cane 1/8 and dated 2016
H:108 x W:84 x D:33 cm

Olivier in gilt bronze

Olivier in gilt bronze by Louis Cane 1/1 and dated 2013
H:52 x W:32 cm.

Cat standing in patinated bronze

Chat standing in patinated bronze by Louis Cane 3/8 and dated 2005
H:48 x W:50 cm

Large Parrot Ménine in patinated bronze

Large Parrot Ménine in patinated bronze by Louis Cane 5/8 and dated 2008
H:132 x W:100 x D:70 cm.

Antiquaire à Beaulieu sur Mer – France

Louis Cane

Artiste Français

Artiste polymorphe, peintre, sculpteur, designer de mobilier, Louis Cane est en perpétuel processus de création.

Né en 1943 à Beaulieu-sur-Mer, ses recherches formelles et conceptuelles le conduisent d’abord, avec le groupe Supports/Surfaces, à déconstruire et reconstruire, à détruire et recréer « l’œuvre ou l’objet d’art », en libérant la toile de son châssis et réciproquement. En témoignent ses Toiles Tamponnées ou Découpées, ses séries « Arches », « Sol/Mur ».

Son exigence artistique l’amène bientôt à suivre des itinéraires plus personnels. En déclarant : “Les peintres ne prennent pas de risques, de peur de rater leur tableau”, il signe alors son retour spectaculaire au figuratif, avec ses réinterprétations des Grands Maîtres et des Grands Chefs-d’Œuvre (notamment ses Ménines), qui constituent des étapes majeures de son parcours.

Il revisite les thèmes de la crucifixion, de l’Annonciation, il transfigure la femme dans ses Nus et ses Accouchements iconoclastes, il se livre aux expériences les plus audacieuses, tant en sculpture qu’en peinture, avec une fantaisie, une liberté et une ironie qui traduisent sa vision lucide de notre époque.

La profondeur et l’authenticité de sa démarche artistique lui valent une reconnaissance internationale : des années 70 à nos jours, ses œuvres sont régulièrement exposées en Europe, en Amérique, au Japon, en Chine et dans le Moyen-Orient, et dans les lieux les plus prestigieux : Centre Georges Pompidou à Paris, Château de Chambord, Musée d’Art Moderne de Sao Paulo, Fondation Maeght à St-Paul de Vence, Musée d’Art Moderne de Nice, Exposition « L’Esprit Supports/Surfaces » au Musée d’Histoire du Shaanxi à Xi’an en Chine, galerie Leo Castelli à New York.

Balançoire aux trois ballerines en bronze et acier peint

Sculpture en bronze et acier peint daté 2015
H:247 x L:199 x Pr:97 cm

Balançoire aux trois ballerines en bronze peint

Sculpture en bronze peint daté 2012
H:127 x L:116 x Pr17,5 cm

Olivier en bronze doré

Olivier en bronze doré signé Louis Cane 1/1 et daté 2013
H:52 x L:32 cm

Balançoire aux trois ballerines en bronze peint

Balançoire aux trois ballerines en bronze peint ,signé Louis Cane 1/8 et daté 2016
H:108 x L:84 x Pr:33 cm

Chat debout en bronze patiné

Chat debout en bronze patiné signé Louis Cane 3/8 et daté 2005
H:48 x L:50 cm

Grande Ménine au perroquet en bronze patiné

Grande Ménine au perroquet en bronze patiné signé Louis Cane 5/8 et daté 2008
H:132 x L:100 x Pr:70 cm