Antique and art dealer in Beaulieu sur Mer – France

Alain Bellino

Born in Nice in 1955, Alain Bellino is a sculptor with originality as he works with a unique material. He uses old pieces of ornamental bronze taken from furniture, chandeliers and decorative objects. He first discovered the material at his father’s restoration workshop. He then developed his idea by making other acquisitions to give him an adequate base of material for his designs.

In fact, he needs the most varied shapes and the most diverse range of metal fragments, which he hijacks from their original use and then welds them with great precision to create the most unexpected compositions.

A fantastic bestiary, filled with dinosaurs, dragons, giant insects and cybernetic creatures, in particular vanities, (one of his favourite themes) come together to produce a vast array of vibrant pieces.

His work irresistibly brings an image to mind of a modern day Arcimboldo although Alain Bellino dismisses any similarities drawn. However, both artists cause the same impact of astonishing wonder.

On the road again

Sculpture in bronze, unique piece 2017
H:34 x W:63 x D: 25 cm

Antiquaire à Beaulieu sur Mer – France

Alain Bellino

Artiste Français

Né à Nice en 1955, Alain Bellino est un sculpteur dont la singularité est qu’il travaille sur un matériau unique : des pièces anciennes de bronze ornementé, issues de l’ameublement, de la lustrerie ou de l’orfèvrerie, qu’il découvre d’abord dans l’atelier de son père restaurateur, et qu’il enrichit ensuite par des acquisitions extérieures, pour se constituer un fonds indispensable à sa création.

Il a en effet besoin des formes les plus variées, des fragments métalliques les plus divers, qu’il détourne de leur fonction originelle et qu’il soude pour réaliser avec une extrême précision les compositions les plus inattendues.

Bestiaire fantastique peuplé de dinosaures, de dragons, d’insectes géants, créatures cybernétiques, et surtout vanités (un de ses thèmes de prédilection), constituent une œuvre aussi foisonnante qu’exubérante.

Cette œuvre – bien qu’Alain Bellino réfute toute classification ou assimilation, évoque irrésistiblement la figure d’un Arcimboldo des temps modernes : ces deux artistes-là provoquent la même stupéfaction admirative.

Darth Vador

Sculpture en bronze argenté, pièce unique 2013
H:44 x L:35 x Pr:42 cm

Piranha

Sculpture en bronze doré, pièce unique 2012
H:59 x L:79 x Pr:15 cm

Baroque Samouraï

Sculpture en bronze, pièce unique 2011
H:44 x L: 39 x Pr:39 cm

On the road again

Sculpture en bronze, pièce unique 2017
H:34 x L:63 x Pr: 25 cm

Vanité bleu outre-tombe

Sculpture en bronze, pièce unique 2013
H:53 x L:50 x Pr:70 cm

Violon Bronze

Violon en bronze patiné et peint, pièce unique
Dimensions: H: 69 x L: 30 x Pr: 21 cm

Libellule

Sculpture bronze peint
Pièce unique